Smoked Gouda Macaroni and Cheese

Creamier and more mellow than a typical mac and cheese; a nice change of pace. I’m also omitted the spinach, for picky eaters.
Has Kim tried this? Yes

2 c. uncooked macaroni

1 slice whole wheat bread

1 tbsp butter

1/2 c sliced green onions

1 tsp minced garlic

2 tbsp flour

2 c milk

1/2 c (2 oz) smoked Gouda

1/3 c grated Parmesan

5 c coarsely chopped spinach

Cook macaroni according to package directions (use minimum cooking time) and make bread crumbs in food processor. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Melt butter over medium heat. Add onions and garlic, cook 1 minute. Add flour and cook 1 minute, whisking constantly. Gradually add milk, whisking constantly until blended. Bring to a boil and cook until thickened slightly, 2 minutes. Add cheeses, and stir until melted.

Add fresh spinach and pasta to cheese sauce and stir. Spoon into baking dish coated with cooking spray. Top with bread crumbs and bake ten minutes.

1 comment so far

  1. Amy on

    I had to play with this, because I got half way through and realized I only had a cup of milk, and I was doubling the recipe for my family of 6 plus company.

    Basically, instead of the milk I added a small container (almost full) of soft ricotta, and some white wine to get the consistency I was looking for.

    Then, because my gouda was apple smoked, I put apple slices on the top of it, and some ricotta salata chunks. Baked and then mixed all together.

    My pickiest eaters and company loved it. Love the gouda. Gouda-ful!


Leave a Reply

